MENASP Network Webinar Series (Last Wednesday of Each Month)

MENASP Network Webinar Series (Last Wednesday of Each Month)

The MENASP Network Webinar Series is a monthly virtual webinar (the last Wednesday lunchtime of each month) that acts as a platform for speakers from within the network and external leading thinkers to present their research.

 

The MENASP Network Webinar Series aims to enable Network members and wider audiences to access new and ground-breaking research on social policy and conflict prevention. The webinars encourage cross-regional research exchanges and policy learning hence, a Middle East focus is not essential though, where possible, reflection on this region or a MENA specific country is encouraged.

 

Stay tuned!

 


 

Upcoming Webinars:

 

Social Safety Nets in Saudi Arabia, with Dr Hanaa Almoaibed

Date: 13 December 2022

Time: 14.00 UK Time | 15.00 CET | 16.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom | Register here

 

Locally Led Democracy and Development in MENA, with Dr Catherine Herrold (Syracuse University, USA)

Date: Postponed (New date to be confirmed)

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CEST | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom

 

Global Youth Unemployment in the MENA Region, with  Prof Nicola Yeates and Prof Ross Fergusson (The Open University, UK) 

Date: Postponed (New date to be confirmed)

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CEST | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom

 


 

Past Webinars:

Social Protection Reforms in the Context of the Pandemic: Insights from Morocco, with Dr Hicham Ait Mansour (Mohammed-V University, Morocco)

Date: 29 September 2021

Time: 13.00 UK/Morocco Time | 14.00 CEST | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

The Effect of Developmental Grievances, State Fragility and External Interventions on Conflicts and Conflict Prevention in the MENA Region, with Prof Timo Kivimäki (University of Bath, UK)

Date: 20 October 2021

Time: 11.00 a.m. UK Time | 12.00 p.m. CEST | 13.00 p.m. Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom – Watch the recording here.

 

The Gender Gap in Political Participation: Evidence from the MENA Region, with Dr Ali Fakih (Lebanese American University, Lebanon)

Date: 27 October 2021

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CEST | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom – Watch the recording here.

 

Women and Peace; State Legitimacy and Service Delivery – Case Studies from Iraq and Sri Lanka, with Dr Zeynep Kaya (University of Sheffield, UK) and Dr Claire McLoughlin (University of Birmingham, UK)

Date: 24 November 2021

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CEST | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom – Watch the recording here.

 

Multidimensional Poverty in Algeria, with Dr Walid Merouani (CREAD, Algeria)

Date: 26 January 2022

Time: 13.00 London | 14.00 Algiers | 15.00 Beirut

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

The Arab Uprisings Revisited: Evidence from a Decade of Arab Barometer Survey Data, with Prof Amaney A. Jamal (Princeton University, USA)

Date: 23 February 2022

Time: 14.00 London | 15.00 Paris | 16.00 Cairo | 9.00 New York City

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

Social Protection for Refugee Adolescents/Youth in Jordan and Palestine, with Dr Nicola Jones (Overseas Development Institute, UK) and Dr Bassam Abu Hamad (AlQuds University, Palestine)

Date: 23 March 2022

Time: 14.00 London | 15.00 Paris | 16.00 Cairo | 9.00 New York City

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

A Proposed Global Funding Mechanism for Social Protection, with Dr Zina Nimeh (UNU-MERIT/Maastricht University, The Netherlands)

Date: 29 June 2022

Time: 12.00 UK Time | 13.00 CEST | 14.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Watch the recording here.

 

The Future of Yemen and Reimagining Humanitarian Engagement, with Sherine El Taraboulsi-McCarthy (NatCen International), and Ibrahim Jalal (Yemen Policy Center)

Date: 19 October 2022

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CET | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

World Development Challenges Report: Main Findings for Arab Countries, with UN ESCWA

Date: 02 November 2022

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CET | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

 

Civil Society Organisations Providing Social Services in Iraq: Why are some CSOs more directed towards the demands of their service recipients? with Ali Hamoudi

Date: 23 November 2022

Time: 13.00 UK Time | 14.00 CET | 15.00 Lebanon Time

Platform: Zoom | Watch the recording here.

Can you answer three questions to let us know if found what you needed on our website and how can we improve the site for you?

Did you find what you were looking for today?

What is your background?

Do you have any general comments or feedback?

Are you a robot?